More Books….

I told you I like to read, well here are a few books I’ve read in the last couple of months.

God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew

This is a great faith builder book. It has been around for years, but for some reason I had never read it. Andrew grew up in Holland, joined the Dutch Army and then was severely injured in Indonesia. While in the hospital wondering what went wrong with his great adventure a friend brought him his Bible that his mother had given to him before he left. His injuries and the word of God were the catalyst that propelled him to renewed faith in Christ and an incredible mission of smuggling Bibles behind the Iron Curtain.

Flight From Heaven- Captain Dale Brooks

Amazing autobiography of Dale Brooks experience in a plane crash where he was the sole survivor and his subsequent trip to heaven. Probably the best description of heaven I have ever read. It made me want to go there….good thing, huh?

Furious Pursuit-Tim King and Frank Martin

I mentioned this book in my original “I love books” blog, but it was so good I wanted to give it a second pass with a quote from the back cover. “What if you could believe that God not only chases you, but that he has never left your side? You can know that God is never distant, never out of reach, and never indifferent to what is going on in your life. And what if you could go a step further and accept that God’s pursuit has nothing to do with your level of faithfulness? He is just as near, and just as vigilant in his pursuit of you, regardless of your dedication to the spiritual disciplines and in spite of your struggle with sin.” This book also has a workbook that can be used with it.

Revolution in World Missions- K.P. Yohannan

I love reading about people! They fascinate me, especially when they are from a different culture, setting or time frame. K.P. grew up in South India the baby of the family of six sons. His mother fasted every Friday for three and a half years asking God to call one of her sons into His service. K.P. was a shy, timid, skinny kid who kept his faith to himself until when he was 16 a visiting gospel team came to their church. When the team portrayed the desperately lost condition of 500,000 villages in North India without a gospel witness, he vowed to help bring the Good News of Jesus Christ to those states to the North. This book details the journey he took to fulfill that commitment.

Choosing to See- Mary Beth Chapman

Steven Curtis Chapman’s wife tells the story of their courtship, marriage and journey through love, life and tragedy. A very real, raw and honest accounting of faith. Excellent book.

Dancing with Max- Emily Colson

Another autobiography…told you I liked stories about real people! Emily gives great insight into not only the challenges of  single parenting, but raising an autistic son. Very courageous woman!

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Books….

  1. when2become1 says:

    They all look great. I think the one that interests me the most would be Furious Pursuit. I will have to check it out when I am finished with the 3 or 4 I am reading right now ;).

    ~JAMES

  2. Definitely, you will enjoy it! You can read mine!!!

Leave a Reply

