The Struggle

As a young Christian I use to think as I got older I’d have this “walking with Jesus” down pat. When I recommitted my life at 27, the Holy Spirit lifted the burden of years of rebellion and sin. Three weeks later my husband, Charles was saved. I felt like we could conquer the world for Jesus! Within three years we had sold our house, applied for seminary and we were off to Texas with our two boys, pregnant with our third child and feeling the rush of the “Great Adventure” that Stephen Curtis Chapman sings of.

Four years of seminary, learning, trusting and seeing God provide for our every need, we waited (not without a little anxiety) on Him to direct our path. Lo and behold, instead of the expected foreign mission field He ended up sending us back to Florida to pastor a church in Lutz.

There have been many ups and downs since that day twenty years ago. I have to honestly confess that the downs have been a result of my own disobedience and rebellion. The ups have been a result of the grace of God through Jesus Christ. If there is one thing that I have learned in “The Struggle” it is this, Jesus is faithful. My flesh is weak, but He makes my spirit willing.

I love Chris Rice, well, I love his music and voice. It is pure in quality and message. Take a moment to listen to his song below, somehow he always gets to the bottom line….JESUS!

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Facts, Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

