Feelings…Nothing more than feelings.

“Feelings” That is the title of the song written in 1974 by Louis Gaste, made famous when Brazilian singer Morris Albert made it a hit and title of his debut album in 1975. The song lyrics although rather lame, begin with “feelings, nothing more than feelings” include a chorus of “whoa whoa, whoa …” or “woo-oo-oo”. ..depending on what lyric website you look at, which to my thinking, should have been spelled…”woe, woe, woe!” The song’s uncommon theme (sarcasm) is about a love sick guy who apparently was jilted and is striving to get over his “feelings” for a girl!

It made #6 on the pop chart and #2 on the Adult Contemporary charts in America. By the number of times this song has been performed, by the likes of Ella Fitzgerald, Petula Clark, Glen Campbell, Frank Sinatra and a whole host of entertainers, (none of which, if you are under the age of 40 yrs., you will recognize) evidence would dictate it has a really catchy tune!

Honestly, I’m not sure what it is about this song, but for the last several weeks I have caught myself humming or “singing” the lyrics in my head, over and over. This, of course, made me wonder WHY? Now, I should definitely insert a link to a YouTube video with the song and the lyrics. At least then you could wonder with me or commensurate by getting the silly song stuck in your head! After all, misery does love company. But, as I was pondering all these deep, deep mysteries 😴😏 a few realities started surfacing.

In the last few months I, along with many loved ones and friends, have experienced a lot of “feelings”. It started with my husband, Charles, experiencing blinding pain in his shoulder totally incapacitating this healthy, hard working, gym loving guy and resulting in cervical fusion, a neck brace and dependence on me for large part of his basic needs. We both experienced a lot of new feelings in that “season”.

Then on April 27th, one of the purest souls I’ve ever had the privilege of calling my friend, Sharon Coad, suddenly without warning, was found unconscious on the kitchen floor, never to be revived. At the age of 57, this vital, amazing woman of God, who had spoke to her husband Steve on the phone 10 minutes earlier was gone.
Next, as most of you know, my dear, funny, sweet and kind brother Tom, at the age of 66, on May 1st, finally succumbed to the cancer that had ravaged his body over the past year. Because of the depth of pain and suffering he had experienced and the sheer exhaustion for both Tom and his deeply devoted wife Sharon, who cared for him faithfully to the very end, we gratefully released him into the loving arms of his Savior, Jesus Christ.
Our church family experienced the loss of two other lives during this time. Both very young, married women, named Kristen, each who had recently given birth to healthy baby boys. Mysterious and incredibly sad, gone within days of childbirth.
Finally, on June 9th, my feisty, faithful, independent, beautiful mother-in-law, Helen White at the age of 92 years, went to be with her Savior and Friend, Jesus, six weeks after being diagnosed with cancer. She lived a full, vibrant life, cognizant and relatively mobile, up until the last few days of her life. However, left behind is her 93 yr. old husband of over 61 years, who has dementia and cannot figure out, why his Helen has gone first, without him.

As I’ve experienced, been touched by, and heard about all of the life and death events in the last few months, so many emotions and questions have circulated in my mind. Questions without answers, for now. But back to my opening sentence and that crazy song, “Feelings….nothing more than feelings..”
What do we do with our feelings? Why do they change so quickly? Are they valid? When should you regard or disregard them? Are they ever, “nothing”?

Some of this is so apparent to you, you will thank me for clearly overstating the obvious! God made us emotional beings. God is emotional. His very Word declares it. Psalm 2:4- God laughs. Psalm 7:11- God is angry with the wicked. Nahum 1:2- God is jealous. John 11:35- God feels our pain. Job 1:4-5 God feels pride. Now of course, God’s emotions are righteous and controlled. I don’t know about you, but mine are seldom either. That’s where we get to the “nothing more than feelings” part. When we experience anger, frustration or bitterness because of unmet expectations, (What….you don’t like my new swimsuit? I don’t get a raise? My child is acting bratty in public!…) and we let it rock our world or ruin our day..those are nothing more than feelings. Let them go!

When life is loss, illness or injury occur, relationships fracture, pour out your emotions to the One who created you. Let your cries to Him be the release valve of the pressure cooker of this sin filled, death and destruction, not what we were created for, life! It’s what King David did and I’m convinced that’s a large part of the reason God called him a man after His own heart. David trusted Him with all those …feelings!

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Feelings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feelings…Nothing more than feelings.

  1. Darlene Pollacek says:

    Deb, I just read this entire blog to Bethany. I was on the phone with her and she was giving me an update on her mother’s health and the latest results of testing. I thought your “feelings” was so appropiate and encouraged her to give all her feelings, fears to God and He would be faithful to be with her, her Mom and Dad and the whole family. Alice is her mother’s name and she does have some very serious heart problems. There doesn’t seem to be any solutions available either. Also Dad P. starts his radiation tomorrow and also a pet scan to see if the cancer is anywhere else. I just want to be able to witness to him one more time – we will probably leave at the end of this week. Keep writing, sister, it’s a gift that keeps on giving. Love you much, Dar

    • Thank you so much for the words of affirmation, Darlene! I will keep Alice and Bethany and her entire family on the top of my prayer list, along with stubborn Mr. P. who God loves so very much!
      Love you sister!

  2. Susan Knighten says:

    At church this morning we sang “Come to Jesus” by Chris Rice. One of the verses struck me, and it resonates with what you shared:
    Sometimes the way is lonely
    And steep and filled with pain
    So if your sky is dark and pours the rain, then
    Cry to Jesus, cry to Jesus
    Cry to Jesus and live
    Thankful for his faithfulness in every hard situation! Thank you for sharing!

    • I love Chris Rice and that song, I know I posted one of his songs last year on my blog. His style is so simplistic and pure, you never miss the message! Thanks for the encouragement, my friend!

Leave a Reply

