Hey- Don’t Judge Me!

It’s ok when I do it…..but not when you do! 😉

I’m caught in this vicious cycle of double standards, it’s horrible! When I really stop and think about it I must be the most pretentious, biased person I know. I’m appalled at myself.

Double standards, it’s almost an art form with me. It requires a high level of justifying and rationalizing that is remarkable. Let me share.

We all have seen people that walk around department and grocery stores talking on their cell phones. Oh my gosh, it’s so annoying. They always talk loudly too, I don’t think they even need a cell tower to be heard by the other person. And it’s not just the volume that’s irritating either, it’s the content. It makes me want to scream at them, I don’t want to hear about your boyfriend….baby’s daddy….last fight…whatever….pleeeaaassssseee….go sit in your car! Not exactly a WWJD response, I know.

Now on the other hand, if I need to take a call while shopping, it is of utmost importance. Probably one of my kids in need of a babysitter for my precious grandchildren or Charles in pursuit of occupying himself while driving home from work. Like I said, important. Perfectly acceptable.

Another area of my DSD (Double Standard Dysfunction) is brought about by dining in restaurants. Enter young parents who sit down and have a peaceful dinner because their 1 and 3 yr old are occupied with electronic devices. For crying out loud, they should be having meaningful interaction with them. You know what I mean, coloring with them, picking up crayons they have tried to eat and then thrown on the floor, making them behave, pacing the parking lot with them, one at a time.
We did! No matter that we didn’t have that technology when we were raising our kids. Sure, when push comes to shove my grandkids m i g h t use electronics in restaurants, cars, home….but seldom, not often, on occasion, usually everyday.

So much of the technology that sends me into absolute hyper DSD is the abuse in restaurants that occurs when two adults are across the table from each other and instead of gazing in each other’s eyes they are glaring at their smart phones. Seriously?…. Why bother? Just pull into a carry out parking place, get your food, go home and eat in separate rooms! Geez. Charles and I have had some of our deepest most intimate conversations at restaurants in hushed tones while looking longingly into the windows of each other’s souls. Except for the other night…..we were at a very small table with no more than 12 inches between us and we texted. He started it though….😁

image

Don’t even get me started on the absurdity of some people’s Facebook postings…the comments…the status updates, the frequency, the pics…eek! My postings…now there’s substance. And Instagram..Twitter….Suffice it to say..”Really?”

Does this sound incredibly petty, self absorbed and judgmental? Dang right! And you do it too. Oh, maybe you don’t fixate on cell phone use or FB, but it drives you crazy when people cut in a long line via a friend who’s already standing in line; or those economical souls who whip out fifty coupons at the grocery store, clog up the aisles searching for that item so they can save twenty-five cents,hand all those coupons to the cashier; return at least 9 out of 10 items to Walmart right in front of you or a myriad of other petty little offenses that have us looking at our fellow human beings like they are ridiculous freaks of nature and of no use to mankind.

Why do you think the Bible has so much in it about judging?

Matthew 7:1-2 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

1 Samuel 16:7 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Romans 2:1 You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.

Psalm 75:7 It is God who judges:He brings one down, he exalts another.

God knows in our flesh we are ignorant, critical and bias. We don’t have all the facts. We have no way to determine what is going on in people’s heads, hearts or lives.

There is a correct way to assess things, but that takes time and love. And the goal is to benefit the person.

John 7:24 Stop judging by mere appearances, but instead judge correctly.”

By the way, when I am operating in harmony with the Spirit, I don’t judge. I laugh at my own foolishness in thinking critical thoughts knowing I’m guilty of the same things. You should laugh at yourself, too! You know you should!

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
Image | This entry was posted in Facts, Failure, Faith, Feelings, God, Reality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hey- Don’t Judge Me!

  1. ericakalnins says:

    I wish you blogged more frequently. Your entries always lead me to self reflection, and then lengthy prayer time! Xo.

  2. Guilty! Thank you for this honest, lighthearted, laugh at yourself, perspective. This is an area I really do want to strive for Christ-like-ness in and be less judgemental and hypocritical. A funny, good, reminder to rise above my own petty sin. 🙂

  3. Regena says:

    Perfect in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

