Pardon Me, My Default is Sin.

Often in the early hours of the morning before my alarm goes off I will awaken to the gentle whispering of the Holy Spirit as He brings to mind sins of the previous day. I can only assume this is because He wants to relieve me of them. After all, 1 John 1:9 states clearly if we confess/agree with God about our sin, he is faithful to forgive and cleanse. This is not the prompting of a nit picking God, but a loving Heavenly Father who wants intimacy with me and understands that sin hinders intimacy.
We know this. We experienced this in our earthly relationships. When we offend or hurt someone whether it’s intentional or not, it causes a breach in the relationship. Confession or apology restores.
Why the early morning probing? No other distractions that would prevent me from hearing. He speaks and I awaken and listen. My mind is not even in the defense mode yet. I simply agree and say, “Forgive me.”
The more I think about this the more amazed I am. Seriously, the God of the universe cares enough about me to “speak” lovingly into my subconscious mind about offenses so that nothing hinders our intimacy? Why? As they say in one of my favorite movies, The Princess Bride– “True love.”
S. Trevor Frances pondered this incredible love in 1875 when he penned a hymn entitled – O the deep, deep love of Jesus with the opening words repeating this mystery- O the deep, deep love of Jesus, vast, unmeasured, boundless, free! Rolling as a mighty ocean in its fullness over me! Underneath me, all around me, is the current of Thy love. 🎶🎶
His inspiration was Ephesians. 3:18, (That you) may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.” Mind boggling love. Which is why Paul continues in verse 19 – “and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”
You see, my default is sin. I am not holy…yet. I received my new nature that desires to be holy even as my Heavenly Father is Holy from Christ years ago, but my flesh aka natural inclination before Christ, is competitive. It wins a lot. Often without me even thinking about it. God understands and out of His deep sympathy and compassion He has given me a Helper on this journey. A Helper who tenderly interrupts my sleep to speak to my wayward slumbering heart that I might respond and be restored. It’s mysterious, but I know it is true. I echo Paul’s words in that same passage-
“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Facts, Failure, Faith, God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pardon Me, My Default is Sin.

  1. Wow, I have never thought of it that way! Love the perspective, it truly is amazing how God pursues us. He wants relationship with us, he loves us so much, and I easily forget those things when it doesn’t go “my way” or how I planned. This was a good reminder for me that he does love me so much and I need not dismiss the “little” or “less obvious” ways he pursues us and shows his love. We measure love with such a worldly scope and scale, Gods love is so much bigger and better than our understanding of love. Oh how I want to love like he does!!

Leave a Reply

