Back to the Basics…Again

IMG_2937Recently I have been privileged to enjoy time off and leave my normal routine behind to go on vacation. This has allowed me to indulge in one of my favorite pass times, reading. The three books that I’ve read are You and Me Forever by Francis and Lisa Chan, Relationships; A Mess Worth Making (Great title, don’t you think?) by Timothy Lane and Paul Tripp, and The Bait of Satan by John Bevere. I highly recommend all three books. They are biblical, instructional, insightful and encouraging in the practical applications of living the life of the redeemed. 

Although they are diverse in their subjects I’m amazed once again how God in His sovereignty orchestrates books I read to convey a primary message He wants me to hear and quite possibly be reminded of AGAIN. In these books the message clearly is “love”. My love for God lived out in loving others. I know, basic theology 101. Seriously thought I would be further along by now in this                                   s-a-n-c-t-i-f-i-c-a-t-i-o-n       process.   After all scripture does make it clear.

“And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us.”1 John‬ ‭3:23‬

‭‭‭A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. John 13:34   

Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another. 1 John 4:11
And that’s just for starters.

Why is it in the course of everyday life I find it so difficult to keep this main thing “LOVE” the main thing? It’s not a lack of understanding, opportunity, or inability. Jesus spoke constantly about love. The people around me give me ample occasions to love. Acts of love are most often simply serving others according to their need, not according to my desire or convenience. Why then do I feel such resistance??

AND I know I’m not the only Christian who finds herself “mentally ascribing while in practice declining” this love does command. 😤 (One of these days I’ll have to grow up and stop using emoji’s in my posts. Don’t judge.) 😉
Here are a few thoughts on the challenge of LOVE.
We are “saints” who stii often act like sinners. I know that should be obvious to all of us, but we live in denial much of the time. We struggle to love God more than ourselves. Thus we struggle to love others.
Because of the cultural lies regarding love we are resistant to operating apart from our feelings. In other words, we think we should feel love and then act accordingly. In God’s economy when you act in loving ways towards others the joy of being in sync with His desires follows.

We allow a sense of inadequacy prevent us from doing for others, combined with the enemy’s lie, “It’s not going to make any difference in their life.”

The ordinariness of serving those in close proximity doesn’t seem like a spiritual endeavor so we rationalize and resist until the opportunity is passed.

All of these “reasons” could be overcome by one simple verse, Galatians 3:10-“Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.”

Now, go out and find someone to love!💜💙💚💛❤️ I promise you won’t have to look hard.

Btw- The caption to the above image of Mother Teresa is as follows from  Time magazine-

“The Good Teresa’s work was accomplished through straightforward action; her ministry did not require a lot of money or extensive plans to carry out its mission. She insisted always that the Missionaries of Charity did not need an organizer and that divine providence would guide her in the sisters’ work and the means to support it.”

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Facts, Failure, Faith, Feelings, God, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

