Grace Taught Me To Say “No”

I love the Bible. It fascinates me. It never gets old…I mean, it is an old book, but no matter how many times I read it I never get to the place where I think-“Ok, got that-check that book off my list!” It is dynamic, not static. Or as the Bible says, “The word of God is alive and active…” Hebrews 4:12. 

The Bible speaks to my heart. It is not only full of truth, but as I read, it changes me. 1 Thessalonians 2:13 “And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe.” Deep within the recesses of my soul, it makes me want to love God more and works in me to live for Jesus. 
This morning I came across verses in Titus 2:11-13. I’m sure I’ve read those same verses at least one hundred times before, but today they popped up off the page in a new way. 
“For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ,”
‭‭God’s grace is teaching me. Whew! What a relief to know. The same grace that brought salvation to me, initiated by God’s love, is instructing me in how to live and love. “But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.” ‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭2:4. God doesn’t just grant me relationship with Him and give me a Book of Rules (Some people’s concept of the Bible). His grace is in me providing motivation, desire, and guidance. 

You are probably saying, “Duh, Debi! Are you sure you’ve read the Bible much?” But to borrow a phrase from my husband and son, “Here’s the deal…” I’m fully aware that I am saved and sustained by grace, but I’m also aware that we are to cooperate with God. 1 Timothy 4:7- “Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly.” (Side note, really wish that phrase was “old men’s tales” teehee, so unflattering.) Oftentimes the truth of the need for me to “work with God” overrides my conscious awareness of the reality that the grace of God is at work in me. I’m not on my own! Blessed be His glorious Name! He makes every provision! 
So be encouraged my friends if you have defaulted lately to the “It’s all up to me and I’m failing.” syndrome. Your Heavenly Father has your back, front and everything in between. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite passages.

‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭1:3-6‬ 
“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. In love He predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will— to the praise of His glorious grace, which He has freely given us in the One He loves.”

About whitehousesouth

I am a Christian by God's mercy and grace. I am a wife, mom and nana to ten beautiful grandchildren. I want to reveal the love of Christ to everyone I meet.
This entry was posted in Books, Daily Life, Faith, Truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grace Taught Me To Say “No”

  1. Amen! Thank you for this reminder 🙂

  2. Jerry Ann Haynam says:

    Halleilujah!

  3. Susan Knighten says:

    So very rich and true! Thank you, Debi, for your insight!

Leave a Reply

